Maritime News

UP42 to Host Free Webinar on Maritime Surveillance

UP42, creator of the leading developer platform for Earth observation data and analytics, will host a free webinar on maritime monitoring and surveillance on Dec. 9, 2020.

Presentations will discuss the integration of optical and radar satellite imagery with Automatic Identification System (AIS) ship tracking data for analysis using machine learning to monitor ports, manage fleets, and detect dark vessels. 

Why Satellite Imagery, AIS Data, and Machine Learning are Making Waves in Maritime Surveillance will be held on 9 December at 16:00 CET (10 am ET, 7 am PT, 8:30 pm IST). The 60-minute webinar will include a live Q&A session with presenters. 

UP42 is teaming on this webinar with exactEarth Ltd. of Cambridge, Ontario, Canada; Commonwealth Computer Research Inc. (CCRi) of Charlottesville, Virginia, USA; and Osir.io of Berlin, Germany.

Who should attend?

Solutions developers and data scientists working on monitoring solutions for commercial or defense organizations.

What will attendees learn?

  •   How to build a fully integrated maritime surveillance solution to monitor global fleets, manage port traffic, and detect vessels operating without AIS.
  •  
  •    How to successfully integrate optical imagery, SAR imagery, and AIS data.
  •  
  •    How to access the right data sets and develop algorithms to build a geospatial solution.
  •  

What will be presented?

“Introduction to Maritime Surveillance” by Elizabeth Duffy of UP42

“Building a Port Boundary Layer using exactEarth’s AIS Data and CCRi Machine Learning” by Taylor Nicholls of exactEarth and Eric Nallon of CCRi.

“The Search for Dark Vessels: Fusing AIS Signals and Deep Learning-Based Ship Detection” by Dr. Markus Müller of UP42. 

“Why is Synthetic Aperture Radar (SAR) Interesting for Maritime Object Verification and Identification?” by Dr. Ron Hagensieker of Osir.io.

Register here.

Offshore Source keeps you updated with relevant information concerning the Offshore Energy Sector.

Any views or opinions represented on this website belong solely to the author and do not represent those of the people, institutions or organizations that Offshore Source or collaborators may or may not have been associated with in a professional or personal capacity, unless explicitly stated.

Corporate Offices

Technology Systems Corporation
8502 SW Kansas Ave
Stuart, FL 34997

Phone: +1 772.221.7720